I’ve been MIA lately. This has been a strange week. I’m finally feeling better, and have been catching up on all of the sleep I missed when I couldn’t breath out of my nose and from my coughing fits I would have throughout the night.

I also suffered from what I initially thought was a self-inflicted migraine. After one year and one week, I decided to have some chocolate – in the form of a nice, warm chocolate chip cookie. It was so good. I was in heaven. However, the next day, I woke up in hell. Horrible stabbing pain in/around my right eye. Thankfully, the medication was in the bathroom, so I was able to take that right away. I also needed some painkillers, which made me quite loopy at work. Since then, I’ve been having headaches on and off all week – right now, I’m fighting another one. It’s not nearly as bad as the last one, but still annoying and still painful.

On the work front, there was a possibility that I would be writing a huge grant for the Illinois State Board of Education. I like writing grants, and this sounded like a nice challenge for me. However, I have a grant due next Friday, as well as on February 28th. This grant, which is due on March 15th, also coincides with all of the coordinating I need to do for our agency’s annual golf event. The whole idea of juggling all of these things, as well as my other duties at work, was really bothering me. I was in a bad funk, and I really hate being in a funk.

The good news is that we decided not to go for this grant. It really does feel like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders. Now I just have to deal with this migraine…

